What Do You Mean…Discipline and SUBMISSION?!?! (Part 8)

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

We saw in Part 7 that there were 2 viewpoints of submission…the worldly viewpoint and the Biblical viewpoint.  We also discussed who we are supposed to submit ourselves to:

A. To the Lord, and

B. To our own husbands.  Let me stress this, Ladies!  Our husbands are our covering and if we are not willing to submit to him then we are in total rebellion against God.  God cannot bless us and to say that He is when we are following our own path is to make God a liar.  Sometimes, when we get our own way it is NOT blessing but a curse to us and our family.  Be positive that you are being obedient to the Lord by obeying your own husband!

Third, we are supposed to submit ourselves to the godly leadership.  Heb. 13:7, 17, Remember them which have the rule over you, who have spoken unto you the word of God: whose faith follow, considering the end of their conversation.  Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that is unprofitable for you.”

Acts 20:28, “Take heed therefore unto yourselves, and to all the flock, over the which the Holy Ghost hath made you overseers, to feed the church of God, which he hath purchased with his own blood.”

1 Thess. 5:12-13, “And we beseech you, brethren, to know them which labour among you, and are over you in the Lord, and admonish you;  And to esteem them very highly in love for their work’s sake. And be at peace among yourselves.”

1 Tim. 5:17, “Let the elders that rule well be counted worthy of double honour, especially they who labour in the word and doctrine.”

These verses are talking about true men of God that follow Him in word and practice, who seek to do what is right in all aspects of life.  It is important that we follow the godly leadership of the church!

Fourth, submit yourselves to one another.  Eph. 5:20-21, “Giving thanks always for all things unto God and the Father in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ;   Submitting yourselves one to another in the fear of God.”

Php. 2:3, “Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.”

Heb. 3:12-13, “Take heed, brethren, lest there be in any of you an evil heart of unbelief, in departing from the living God.  But exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.”

1 Pt. 5:5, “Likewise, ye younger, submit yourselves unto the elder. Yea, all of you be subject one to another, and be clothed with humility: for God resisteth the proud, and giveth grace to the humble.”

This seems to be difficult for many of today’s church going people.  Sadly, most of the people that go to church do NOT want to be told that they are in sin.  They expect everyone to leave them alone and they leave everyone else alone.  The wife doesn’t want to be told she’s in rebellion against her husband by not submitting, the daughter doesn’t want to be told she’s in rebellion against her parents by disobeying them and following her own path.  No one seems to see anything wrong with this picture!  If a godly woman goes to them and shares that there are things in their lives that needs changing suddenly the charge becomes, “Who are you to judge?  Doesn’t the Bible say, Judge not that you be not judged?  You’re judging me and you are wrong!”  They little realize that they are the ones who have just judged because they are in sin and refuse to do what is right.  They are the ones with the log in their eye judging the godly lady with a little speck in her eye!  How sad that we have come to this point.

We are REQUIRED to submit to one another as to the Lord whether we like it or not!

Fifth, we are to submit to the laws of the land.  Rom. 13:1-6, “Let every soul be subject unto the higher powers. For there is no power but of God: the powers that be are ordained of God.  Whosoever therefore resisteth the power, resisteth the ordinance of God: and they that resist shall receive to themselves damnation.  For rulers are not a terror to good works, but to the evil. Wilt thou then not be afraid of the power? do that which is good, and thou shalt have praise of the same:  For he is the minister of God to thee for good. But if thou do that which is evil, be afraid; for he beareth not the sword in vain: for he is the minister of God, a revenger to execute wrath upon him that doeth evil.  Wherefore ye must needs be subject, not only for wrath, but also for conscience sake.  For for this cause pay ye tribute also: for they are God’s ministers, attending continually upon this very thing.”

Tit. 3:1, “Put them in mind to be subject to principalities and powers, to obey magistrates, to be ready to every good work,”

1 Pt. 2:13-17, “Submit yourselves to every ordinance of man for the Lord’s sake: whether it be to the king, as supreme; Or unto governors, as unto them that are sent by him for the punishment of evildoers, and for the praise of them that do well.  For so is the will of God, that with well doing ye may put to silence the ignorance of foolish men:  As free, and not using your liberty for a cloke of maliciousness, but as the servants of God.  Honour all men. Love the brotherhood. Fear God. Honour the king.”

As long as the laws of the land do not go contrary to the Word of God, we MUST obey them as the laws are there for our good and our protection!

So why must we submit to those who are in authority over us?

First, when we don’t submit we are in rebellion to the Lord.  According to the Word of God, rebellion is the same thing as worshiping Satan and stubbornness is the same as idolatry!  1 Sam. 15:23, “For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry. Because thou hast rejected the word of the LORD, he hath also rejected thee from being king.”
Prov. 17:11, “An evil man seeketh only rebellion: therefore a cruel messenger shall be sent against him.”

2 Tim. 3:8, “Now as Jannes and Jambres withstood Moses, so do these also resist the truth: men of corrupt minds, reprobate concerning the faith.”

Tit. 1:16, “They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him, being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate.”

Second, we submit because we want to follow Christ’s example.   Mt. 26:39, “And he went a little further, and fell on his face, and prayed, saying, O my Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt.”

Jn. 4:34, “Jesus saith unto them, My meat is to do the will of him that sent me, and to finish his work.”

Jn. 5:19, 30, “Then answered Jesus and said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, The Son can do nothing of himself, but what he seeth the Father do: for what things soever he doeth, these also doeth the Son likewise.  I can of mine own self do nothing: as I hear, I judge: and my judgment is just; because I seek not mine own will, but the will of the Father which hath sent me.”

Jn. 6:38, “For I came down from heaven, not to do mine own will, but the will of him that sent me.”

Jn. 8:27-30, “Then said they unto him, Who art thou? And Jesus saith unto them, Even the same that I said unto you from the beginning.   I have many things to say and to judge of you: but he that sent me is true; and I speak to the world those things which I have heard of him.   They understood not that he spake to them of the Father.  Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things.    And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him.  As he spake these words, many believed on him.”

Jn. 9:4, “I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work.”

Jn. 12:49, “For I have not spoken of myself; but the Father which sent me, he gave me a commandment, what I should say, and what I should speak.”

Jn. 14:10, “Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.”

Jn. 17:4, “I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.”

Finally, we submit because we love the Lord Jesus Christ and want to be obedient in ALL things.  Jn. 14:15, 21, 23, “If ye love me, keep my commandments.  He that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me: and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.  Jesus answered and said unto him, If a man love me, he will keep my words: and my Father will love him, and we will come unto him, and make our abode with him. “

Jn. 15:10, 14, “If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.”

1 Jn. 2:5, “But whoso keepeth his word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in him.”

1 Jn. 5:3, “For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.”

2 Jn. 1:6, “And this is love, that we walk after his commandments. This is the commandment, That, as ye have heard from the beginning, ye should walk in it.”

Notice, the importance that is placed on obedience! If we love the Lord Jesus Christ we will be obedient in all things.  When we are disobedient it shows three things in our lives:

  1. We are worshiping ourselves instead of the Lord,
  2. We think that Jesus Christ is not important enough to obey,
  3. We do NOT love the Lord Jesus Christ with all our heart, soul, strength and mind!

Shame on us for not being obedient to our Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ!  Who are we to think that we know more than God does?  We should all be hanging our heads low at this point and seeking forgiveness for not being obedient to Him in every area of life!

Lord, we ask that you would forgive us, your church, for not always obeying you in every area of life.  We are so thankful that You told us that if we confess our sins You are faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.  How glorious You are and deserving of all praise in all things!  You are God over all and none can say, “What are you doing!”  Thank you, Lord, that You do whatever You please in the heavens and in the earth.  Keep us faithful to You!  In the name of our precious Lord and Saviour, Jesus Christ, we ask these things!  Amen!

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

