Whatever It Takes

There’s a voice calling me
From an old rugged tree
And He whispers, “Draw closer to Me;
Leave this world far behind,
There are new heights to climb,
And a new place in Me you will find.”

For whatever it takes to draw closer to you, Lord,
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.
For whatever it takes to be more like You,
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.

Take the dearest things to me,
If that’s how it must be,
To draw me closer to Thee;
Let the disappointments come,
Lonely days without the sun,
If through sorrow more like You I’ll become.

Take my houses, my lands,
Change my dreams, change my plans
For I’m placing my whole life in Your hands;
And if You call me today…
To a place far away
Lord, I’ll go, and Your will obey.

I’ll trade sunshine for rain
Comfort for pain –
That’s what I’ll be willing to do –
For whatever it takes for my will to break,
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.
That’s what I’ll be willing to do.

by Lanny Wolfe

When I was growing up I used to sing this song but never really thought about the words. Eventually, I forgot about it since I really wasn’t a Christian and didn’t really care. While we were in England, the hard times used to come (quite often) and the Lord brought this song back to my memory time and again. I searched high and low for quite awhile and was really excited when I found it (making sure I memorized it just in case).

So many times we want our way and desire to do everything we can to have an easy time of it but, if we are TRUE BELIEVERS IN THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, we have never been promised an easy time. We have been promised various trials, tribulations, and persecutions galore! We struggle against our flesh because our flesh wants things done MY WAY. We struggle with the world because there is so much out there that I DESIRE more then serving the Lord. We struggle with Satan and his minions because the temptations he puts in our way are so desirable that we’d rather GIVE IN to the temptations then to say no to ourselves.

As I sing this song and contemplate the words, I desire to give up all to follow the Lord. I want to give up the dearest things to me so that I would be more like the Lord Jesus Christ and willing to follow His will above all else. Yet when the hard times begin to roll, I start to whinge and complain to the Lord about how difficult it is. I beg Him to let up on the hard times just give me the easy times (like when I felt His presence and knew He was working everything out just the way I wanted it done). My struggle begins (once again) and I wonder why people who say they’re Christians but refuse to follow the Lord tend to begin the ‘persecution’ of those who are striving to follow the Lord and HIS COMMANDS (“IF ye love Me, keep my commandments,” Jesus told His disciples and that includes us! John 14:15).

The reminder then comes back from 2 Timothy that we are soldiers in the middle of a battle. What do soldiers do? They endure hardness for a specific purpose. What is our purpose? Our purpose is to willingly submit to God’s will! Nay, even more then that! We must take God’s will as our very own and delight in His loving ministrations AND CHASTISEMENTS! Just as we delight in our children yet there are many times that we must discipline them so they will be happy and well-adjusted, so in the same way God works with us! Whatever it takes to break our hard hearts and stubborn wills so the Lord will use it to make us a worthy vessel to show forth HIS glory, HIS honour, AND HIS grace (not ours!)

One day, I want to enter heaven and hear from my precious Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ, “Well done, and welcome home, good and faithful servant! Enter into the joy of your Lord!” I know I have to pay a price for serving the Lord. Now my questions to you are, “Will you pay the price now and endure hardness as a good soldier? Or will you pay the price later and have an easy time of it right now? Which will you choose? As for us and our house, we WILL serve the Lord even in the midst of the difficulties and hard times!”

For whatever it takes to be more like YOU, LORD, that’s what I’ll be willing to do in EVERY AREA of life! Change me, mould me and make me into the image of the Lord Jesus Christ. May I lose all desire for my will but give me YOUR desires and YOUR will! AMEN and AMEN!

3 responses to “Whatever It Takes

  1. Great post. I just posted on it and linked to your post.

    God Bless

    Dan

  2. Great post. I just posted on it and linked to your post.

    God Bless

    Dan

    http://thewaywarriors.blogspot.com/2009/06/change.html

  3. Thank you so much!!! I needed this more then I even realized! God bless you!

Leave a Reply

