Do You Desire Christ?

What is your desire today? God’s will or your own?

7 responses to “Do You Desire Christ?

  1. mybloggerings

    Interesting. I like how he said “I work hard to not be conventional”. LOL. So I’m not sure I agree with his last statement about knocking at the heart of sinners. Maybe he’s right. I have heard that God cannot be in the presence of sin. It says that somewhere in scripture, but can’t place it right now. However, does God not pursue us? Maybe I just misunderstood what he was saying.

  2. Hello MB,

    Actually, you have opened up 3 different discussions in this but I will do my best to explain it! 😀

    You said, “So I’m not sure I agree with his last statement about knocking at the heart of sinners. Maybe he’s right.”

    If you look at the context you will see that Christ was talking to the Laodicean church. This church was a lukewarm church (neither hot or cold so much so that Christ said He would vomit them out of His mouth). This church talked about how rich they were and yet Christ offered to give them their necessities (3 different ways of saying that He was offering them salvation). He went on to say that He stood at the door and was seeking to enter this church that bore His name and yet lacked any true believers. This was His way of saying that if any of the people within that so-called church realized their spiritual lack and actually responded in faith that He would enter the church. These days the so-called church has nothing to do with God but still claim that they do!

    You are right in that God cannot be in the presence of sin. This is due to His attribute of holiness (which is why we should hate sin because we are called to be holy just as God is holy). We do see, however, that Jesus is not entering the church that refuses to have nothing to do with Him. This is not about individual sinners but the church as a whole. There are so many churches out there that are following their own path and don’t want God to be involved in their lives because it would mean living a holy and separated life (change to become more like the Lord Jesus Christ). Most don’t want that because they are happy with the way they are (I think Paul Washer mentioned yuppies that use God as the cherry on top)!

    God doesn’t pursue us at all because that would then make us more powerful then God. In fact, the Bible states that we are dead in trespasses and sin (Eph. 2). Dead people don’t normally go anywhere except to stay where they are. The Holy Spirit does draw men to Himself or quickens them (makes them come to life) but there really is no pursuit involved. Men love their sins and desire to stay there. If it were up to us we would hate God for the rest of eternity so it takes God to move us to where we should be.

    Hope that helps!
    Desert Pastor’s wife

  3. mybloggerings

    I guess I was stating from my own experiences. I certainly have felt like God has pursued me in my life. Maybe he isn’t knocking at my door, but He certainly has tried to wake me up many times when I was in sin. I considered it at those times that I had turned my back on God. I had given up on Him. But He certainly brought people into my life that helped me change. Is that not being pursued by God? Yes, I know we have free will. He wants us to choose Him. But I also think God has a purpose for each life. I think He wants each of us to have a chance to choose Him.

    Maybe its just a misunderstanding in wording. It kind of seems like comparing apples and oranges – comparing pursuing and prompting. I get it though.

  4. I do apologize that it’s taken so long to respond but much has happened recently and I haven’t been on the blog recently until yesterday evening.

    I think the difference between being pursued or prompted by God, boils down to your theology of God. For instance, I believe in the doctrines of grace and am firmly convinced that before time began God chose the elect. (Eph. 1:4-6). I don’t believe that God sends anyone to hell (we send ourselves there) but I do believe that the Lord places people in our paths for a specific purpose that He decreed before time began. I have to say that there is a reason for each situation no matter how small or how large and the reason is so we, as true believers, will be conformed to the image of Christ in EVERY area of life. Unfortunately, most people (including true believers) are so caught up in secular life and the pleasures thereof that they forget there is a more important reason then just going from day to day. We are not here just to enjoy life (although as Christians we should enjoy life God’s way more than the unsaved person does) but we should be growing spiritually and seeking the kingdom of God first and foremost in our lives. Hope this helps clear up any confusion.

  5. That is a wonderful clip by Mr. Washer. So true. But I haven’t heard anything from him that isn’t. 🙂 So different than what we mostly hear these days.
    Take care,
    Rachel

  6. Hello,

    I was so excited to see a woman’s blog!! 🙂 I am a stay at home mom, so I dont get to interact with many ladies, so I was excited to see and you are reformed as well…but I did have a question that maybe you could help me with. You said above…

    “I don’t believe that God sends anyone to hell (we send ourselves there)”

    I use to believe this. I ,too, hold to doctrines of grace, but I dont believe anymore that we send ourselves to hell. But maybe we can talk through this and help each other understand…We are condemend and under His wrath and the wages of sin is death and who causes that death? God, in His judgment, the sinner must die, and He is the punishment giver and just like Jesus said in Luke 12:5 “But I will warn you whom to fear: fear the One who, after He has killed, has authority to cast into hell; yes, I tell you, fear Him!”

    We must be saved from God’s wrath and that is through Christ alone. 1 Thess 1:10 “and to wait for His Son from heaven, whom He raised from the dead, that is Jesus, who rescues us from the wrath to come.” And you think about a criminal and a judge, the criminal doesn’t send himself to jail, the judge does. Now the reason he goes to jail is b/c of his crimes. We too go to hell b/c of our crimes against God and b/c we are unholy, but He, the Just Judge, sends us to our punishment. i hope this makes sense in what i’m trying to say…we all deserve hell. we all deserve eternal punishment and His wrath and if He sent us all to hell, He would be just in doing so, but thank God for His grace! Thanks again!

  7. I agree with you that God does the sending to hell but the meaning was more along the lines that God doesn’t choose some to go to heaven and some to go to hell. We have already chosen hell by our very nature. It was a very poor choice of words! Thanks for pointing that out to me.

    Btw, Welcome! It’s nice to see another reformed lady here. If you are interested in chatting more my email address is:

    desertpastorswife@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

