Wings as Eagles

Many years ago, I learned this song. It follows the Bible verse and the tune is different from a lot of tunes that are out there today. It has been a huge encouragement to me at different times of my life, especially during times when I have had to wait on the Lord for something. This is a good verse to remember during the waiting times in your life!

They that wait upon the Lord
Shall renew their strength
They shall mount up with wings as eagles
They shall run and not be weary
They shall walk and not faint
Teach me, Lord,
Teach me, Lord, to wait!

Wings as Eagles

3 responses to “Wings as Eagles

  1. joannamallory

    Amen! I’d always thought the soaring was the highest aim in this verse, until one of my favourite authors, Mark Buchanan, pointed out how Scripture is often a progression. That the soaring is perhaps easy once you’re up on the current, that the running is harder, and that the walking, plodding, foot-after-tired-foot is the hardest of all. In the waiting and the walking, teach us LORD to wait on You.

    Blessings today!

  2. The Desert Pastor

    Waiting is very difficult to do for many true believers in the Lord Jesus Christ. A very welcome encouragement.

    The Desert Pastor

  3. Desert Pastor's wife

    I do understand that plodding foot-after-tired-foot and it seems like, in the life of a true believer, that is exactly what we do most of the time! That song has been going through my mind for awhile and I did feel it needed to be published on the blog. Thank you both for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

