When I Survey

“For thousands of years people have had problems with too much pride and arrogance in their life but today we have too much humility so therefore we must learn to love ourselves before we can love anyone else.” This notion comes directly from the pits of hell but here is a song that shares how we should be looking at ourselves.

We must first realize that we are a sinner totally and completely depraved. When we truly see God for Who He is then we will see ourselves as lost and undone! Even after becoming a Christian we sin and completely fail God but because of HIS work on the cross we are “the beloved in Christ.” Praise the Lord for HIS finished work on Calvary!

In saying that, this hymn, written by Isaac Watts, shares with us that we should be willing to sacrifice all for Christ! Are you willing to do so regardless of the cost? Let me challange you to ask the Lord daily to change you to become more like the Lord Jesus Christ! The next step would be complete obedience to HIS will in all things!

Isaac Watts

When I survey the wondrous cross
On which the Prince of glory died,
My richest gain I count but loss,
And pour contempt on all my pride.

Forbid it, Lord, that I should boast,
Save in the death of Christ my God!
All the vain things that charm me most,
I sacrifice them to His blood.

See from His head, His hands, His feet,
Sorrow and love flow mingled down!
Did e’er such love and sorrow meet,
Or thorns compose so rich a crown?

His dying crimson, like a robe,
Spreads o’er His body on the tree;
Then I am dead to all the globe,
And all the globe is dead to me.

Were the whole realm of nature mine,
That were a present far too small;
Love so amazing, so divine,
Demands my soul, my life, my all.

[Added by the compilers of Hymns An­cient and Mo­dern]

To Christ, who won for sinners grace
By bitter grief and anguish sore,
Be praise from all the ransomed race
Forever and forevermore.

One response to “When I Survey

  1. You hit the nail on the head!!!

Leave a Reply

