Training For Eternity!

There is so much in our life that tends to take our thoughts and focus away from the Lord. It is so important for us to realize the importance of keeping focused on the Lord. John 15:4 tells us, “Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.” With this verse, we see a major importance put on abiding in Christ. Why is it that even with all the Women’s Bible studies out there, it seems that most Christian women still are not growing spiritually? Is it because a lot of women read the Bible studies, talk about how good it is then continue on in their selfish lifestyle?

When I was in England, I began a Bible study for the ladies within our church. The Bible study was on discipline within our lives (for Christian women — see Disciplines of a Godly Woman by Barbara Hughes). I found that, although the ladies were excited about it to begin with, not long after we started doing the Bible study the biggest percentage of the women found a lot of excuses not to attend. The word ‘discipline’ threw them off and before long they were telling me that the book was legalistic and not very helpful. I found this hard to understand because when I (not me but Christ Who enabled me to do it) put the principles into effect, I did begin to see changes in my own life. It was definitely not easy to do but the saying “No pain, no gain” is quite true. The trend of watching the ladies go from excitement of wanting to study God’s Word to being angry and leaving the Bible study was a downhill battle.

We were so excited and there were about 13 of us that met in our little living room. I shared a little bit about the hard times of life and how Scripture would help us through (we spent a lot of time in Scripture). We spent a lot of time in prayer over each of the Bible studies and yet what made it such a catastrophic event that the biggest percentage of the ladies left? Here are a few problems that I see within the lives of Christian women that are having an effect not only on their lives but also the lives of their families.

Leave a Reply

