Older Women Teaching Younger Women

The third problem I see is that older women in the faith do not teach the younger women. In Titus 2, Paul is sharing with Titus what should be done within the local church. In verses 1-5, we find out what the women are supposed to be doing. Paul starts off with the men, “But as for you, speak the things which are proper for sound doctrine: that the older men be sober, reverent, temperate, sound in faith, in love, in patience; the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things–that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God may not be blasphemed.”

I’m sure the first question that comes to mind is, “If you’re talking about the women then why did you include the men?” The simple answer is because when you come to the women the Bible says “the older women likewise” so everything that has been told to the men in the previous verses must also apply to the women. Is it to be thought that the women can do whatever they want and the men have to follow the Bible? Of course not! So these things will apply to each of the women.

I want to mention to the older women in the faith that if you don’t have someone younger you can teach and train then find someone! You are responsible to the Lord to teach those younger in the faith then you! Do you proudly share that you have been saved 5, 10, 15, 20 or even more years in the faith? Find someone who has been saved less years then you and begin to disciple her!

“But I don’t know much!” might be your protest. “I haven’t learned a whole lot and I’m not good at sharing my faith. I don’t know what to say!” Have you learned so little in your walk with the Lord that you don’t see other women, younger in the faith, doing something that goes contrary to the Word of God?

“You don’t understand! I don’t know how to share with them. What if they get upset at me?” Last time I checked the Bible, we are commanded to be submissive to one another and to help one another (Gal. 6:1; 1 Pt. 5:5) Which is more important – following commands of Scripture or following your own path?

On the other hand, I realize that some people do not even know how to begin so I will help you to begin the path! When I first started out trying to talk to people, I was so scared I wouldn’t even know how to begin. Many times I asked the Lord to give me strength and courage to say something then I would fail! Does this sound familiar to you?

I finally began sharing my testimony because I was quite comfortable with how I accepted the Lord into my heart and I knew that was something no one could dispute. After all, my testimony happened to me not to anyone else! Of course, this also was very hard at first but it became easier. Eventually, I began sharing little praises about the Lord every now and then after I finished giving my testimony. From there, I went to encouraging people in the Lord and for many years all I did was encourage people. I tried over and over to say something I felt would help others to grow spiritually but always fell short for two reasons.

1.) I was afraid of the response. (1 Pt. 3:14)

2.) I didn’t want to hurt people’s feelings. (Prov. 27:17)

The Lord continuously convicted my heart over my lack of devotion to Him. It all boils down to one thing if you refuse to disciple other women. You love man more then God. If God sent His only Son to die on the cross for you then why would you turn down the opportunity to serve Him in any way you can? Give Him your whole heart and soul.

The Bible tells us that all the law and the prophets are based on 2 commandments.

  • Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind. (Deut. 6:5; 10:12; 11:1, 13, 22; Josh. 22:5; Matt. 22:37; Mark 12:30; Lk. 10:27)
  • Love your neighbour as yourself. (Lev. 19:18; Matt. 22:39; Mark 12:31; Lk. 10:27; Rom. 13:9; James 2:8)

How can you, as an older woman in the Lord love the Lord your God? By obeying the Lord. One of the directions put forth in the Bible is that the older women teach the younger women in Titus. But wait! Before you can teach the younger women anything you need to make sure that you are learning and growing. You need to make sure that you are becoming more like the Lord Jesus Christ. What kinds of things should you be learning first of all?

  1. You must be reverent in behaviour. Now, of course, this doesn’t mean to go around with a sour look on your face all the time! We can be reverent in behaviour and be joyful in our salvation. The KJV puts it like this “…they be in behaviour as becometh holiness…” Your life must exemplify the holiness of the Lord. You must be willing to be holy even as Christ also is holy.
  2. You must not be a slanderer or a false accuser. There are many women out there that love to stretch the truth. They love to lie and talk about others (gossip)! This is not to be. As older women in the faith, we should be willing to tell the truth regardless of the cost to us. We should also desire to help others instead of tear them down with our words. (James 3)
  3. You must not be given to much wine. Someone who is a drunkard is not a good testimony to the Lord and Ephesians tells us ‘… be not drunk with wine wherein is excess; but be filled with the Spirit.” We should be so filled with the Spirit in the same manner as a drunkard is filled with alcohol. I know some drunkards and they love their drink! That is exactly how we should be when it comes to being filled with the Holy Spirit!
  4. You must be a teacher of good things. There is only One that’s good and that is God! Be a learner of the Word of God and you will be able to be a teacher of the Word of God.

As you pray about these things and seek to live a holy life before God, ask Him to help you to be both a learner and a teacher. Find someone younger then you and teach them what the Lord has taught you. Ask the Lord to bring the right person into your life so you can begin to teach them. Do you have little ones at home? Begin teaching them obedience NOW and as you grow older in the Lord you will find it gets easier to teach other women. May we all seek to live a holy and godly life in Christ Jesus.

Maranatha,

Desert Pastor’s wife

NEXT

8 responses to “Older Women Teaching Younger Women

  1. This is a good article for women to build their legacy! Thanks for posting it. I will definitely link this from my site.
    Blessing to you and yours!

  2. This article will help in my walk to teach younger women. Thank you.
    To God Be The Glory!!!

  3. Thank you for the above article. I have involved myself with a blogging community (blogfrog) which is mostly made up of younger married women…and it seems that what I have been sharing with them has been more a frustration to them then a blessing. Then when I read your words I realized that most of them have probably not had a lot of wisdom passed down to them…but have muddled thru on their own…which means at least some of their ways of doing things are probably a little muddled too, and so what I tell them seems too strong to them.
    Anyway, thank you much!
    Jenny
    http://theblogfrog.com/naturalchildrearing/
    http://hearawhisperat.blogspot.com/

    • Jenny,

      I am very happy that I could be a help to you…praise the Lord for His word and helping us to learn and grow. I agree with you, it is very hard to share things with people who simply do not want to hear the truth or only want to hear parts of it. Those who end up frustrated because of the truth normally have a pride issue and don’t want anyone to look at them as having any kind of a problem. This does not mean they will not change it simply means that at that moment pride is casting it’s pall on good sense. Just keep them in prayer and let them know that you love them. Don’t back down from the truth of God’s Word because if it isn’t from God’s Word then there is a real possibility that there is some error mixed in with it. If it’s about children then there are many Bible verses that deal with raising children. Thank you so much for stopping by and reading…

      In Christian love,

      Desert Pastor’s wife

      • Thank you for your reply….
        I remember when I was in my 20’s and 30’s, I would periodically ask God to bring me an older women to spend time with me for advice, prayer and mentoring. However, I did this because it was taught in the church I went to back then,….and I don’t think it is taught today in many churches. It seems that people are more focused on themselves and Pastors are teaching about ‘how to have better lives’ and ‘how to prosper’ and ‘how to stop sinning’…..all these are not bad in themselves, however they keep us keeping our eyes on ourselves.

        Till later,
        Jenny

        • You are right, Jenny, in that very few churches tend to teach that the older women need to teach the younger women. I didn’t know anything about older women teaching younger women for many years in my married life. I thought that we were just supposed to learn through experience and that’s it until I really began studying. We finally went to a church where they had real Bible studies for the ladies. Sadly, that ended up being a laugh because even the older women didn’t seem to know much and kept asking the younger women what they should do. I told my husband that they didn’t really know what to do and it was concerning to me. The important thing is to make sure that we go back to Scripture in every situation and stand for the truth no matter what anyone says. The hardest part about that is…is it what Scripture really says? Or are we going by our feelings? The Bible is very clear that we cannot trust our hearts and in Jeremiah 17 it says, “The heart is deceitful above all things and desperately wicked. Who can know it?” That is why we must always go back to the Word of God in everything. We can and normally are deceived easily in things so we must always always depend on God’s Word for direction. Man can lead you astray easily and normally does. Hope this helps you. Take care.

          In Christian love,
          DPW

  4. Hello, thank you so much for this valuable article. I was blessed by it. I always loved being in older women’s company as they have so much wisdom. I spesifically loved listening to my grandmother who passed on at the age of 82. She loved the lord and taught me life lessons that I can treasure always.
    I just want to say that it does not matter how old you are, if there is a woman younger than you, there can be things that you can teach her. We must allow God to use our experiences to minister to others, as long as what we teach are scripturally correct.
    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

